With Konstantin Shamray (piano) and Chris Williams (didgeridoo)

Can't decide on what to see? Create your own Package by selecting two performances.

A Moment in Time explores some of life’s defining moments, from the sentimental and evocative to the ironic and witty, in a poignant program of nostalgic works. The concert opens with the virtuoso arias di bravura of Vivaldi performed on the oboe, and Konstantin Shamray performing Chopin’s Piano Concerto No. 2. This stunning work of exquisite beauty and poetic expressiveness was said to be inspired by Chopin’s own experience of unrequited love. The program features the world premiere of a new work by acclaimed Australian/Los Angeles-based composer Leah Curtis in the second work of the 2022 Southern Cross Soloists (SXS) Didgeridoo Commissioning Project. Tchaikovsky’s wistful and tragic Lensky’s Aria follows in a new version featuring SXS Next Gen flute player Jessica Walther.

The concert finishes on a lighter note as we follow the adventures in medieval Europe of the charmingly mischievous rogue Till Eulenspiegel, from his pranks on the rich and powerful to his untimely death at the gallows.

Vivaldi Il Giustino, RV 717: "Vedrò con mio diletto"
            La fida ninfa, RV 714: Alma oppressa da sorte crudele
Chopin Piano Concerto No. 2 in F minor, Op. 21
Leah Curtis World Premiere new work for SXS and Didgeridoo as part of the SXS Didgeridoo Commissioning Project
Tchaikovsky Kuda, kuda vï udalilis (Lensky's Aria) Eugene Onegin
Strauss, R. Till Eulenspiegel's Merry Pranks, Op. 28

SXS Didgeridoo Commission Project
SXS are committed to nurturing First Nation's representation in their arts practices to promote cultural understanding. Their renewed focus for 2022-2032 is to respond to this commitment by creating the ‘SXS Didgeridoo Commission Project': a legacy of new Australian works for didgeridoo and small ensemble with our Artist in Residence, Wakka Wakka didgeridoo soloist Chris Williams.

For their 2022 Season, Southern Cross Soloists will commission three new 8-10 minute works for didgeridoo and small ensemble to be premiered in their 2022 QPAC Concert Series. These commissions form part of a legacy project that is committed to creating a substantial canon of works for didgeridoo and small ensemble over the next 10 years.

To find out more visit: southernxsoloists.com/dcp

Due to unforeseen circumstances, soloists Jonathan Henderson and Alan Smith are unable to appear at this concert.

  • The Safest Way to Buy!

    QTIX is the official ticketing service for QPAC and Southern Cross Soloists: A Moment in Time. Selected packages are sold through authorised resellers only. Any tickets purchased through unauthorised sales channels may be seized or cancelled without refund or exchange and the bearer of the ticket may be denied admission. Unauthorised sales channels include Viagogo, eBay and Gumtree. Read more about purchasing tickets online.

Presented by QPAC and Southern Cross Soloists

Pricing Guide

Admission Adult $80 Concession^ $60 STUDENT/YOUTH^^ $30
Groups i Admission $60
Make a group booking
Schools i Admission $20

^Concession: Seniors and Pension card holders

^^Full-time students or under the age of 30 years old

A transaction fee of $7.20 applies per transaction. Selected ticket delivery methods may incur an additional charge. The minimum price listed may be available for selected performances only. Please see the event calendar when booking for the available date(s) and time(s) of this performance.



    Southern Cross Soloists (SXS) are the stars of Australian chamber music. Since 1995, SXS have firmly established themselves as one of Australia’s pre-eminent classical music ensembles. In 2022, SXS will deliver a program of intoxicating virtuosity in its 13th QPAC Concert Series as a Company in Residence at QPAC. Composed of leading virtuosic soloists from across Australia, SXS creates and performs dynamic, unique, and world-class musical experiences for audiences of all ages.